• 01. Agada Yapanit (A Japanese Tale)
  • 02. Hofim (Beaches)
  • 03. The Purple Piece
  • 04. Eyn Gedi *
  • 05. La Chanson Des Vieux Amants
  • 06. Lonnie’s Lament*
  • 07. Quando Eu Me Chamar Saudade
  • 08. La Casa Del Llano
  • 09. Niguneem*
  • 10. Cypresses *


2007 | Anzic Records

Joined by a quartet of downtown Manhattan jazz luminaries (pianist Jason Lindner, bassist Omer Avital, drummer Daniel Freedman) and a string quartet, Cohen plays clarinet with a total command of the instrument. She sensitively renders, Coltrane’s “Lonnie’s Lament,” a biting Brel chanson, a ballad by Brazilian songwriter, Cavaquinho, four Israeli songs, two of her own originals and one by Avital.


The Press says about Poetica:

“Poetica”…is the most lyrical of the two releases, an imaginatively arranged session showcasing Cohen’s mastery of the clarinet.   …    She’s not only in fine form, her tone delightfully fluid and assured, but also in fine company…   Washington Post,  May 11, 2007

Especially on clarinet, Cohen’s is a compelling and original voice of great promise.  – The New York Sun, May 8 2007

…both records share her round romantic tone and her restless world-embracing spirit. Where Noir is large and all-embracing, Poetica is tighter, sharper, and more personal.  — Pop Matters,  April 16, 2007

Cinematic, with its emotionally expressive ability to conjure scenes and settings, the ten tracks move in a rhythmic current. Cohen appears to be sidling up to a melodic tradition that suits her.All About Jazz NY, May 5, 2007

The work features the string quartet’s note-perfect, deeply expressive performance of Avital’s late-romantic/impressionist arrangement.   —- JazzTimes,  June 2007 issue


Bookmark and Share